Tigers Pitchers/Catchers Report; Spring Begins (w/ schedule)

5

LAKELAND, Florida---

Even though many Tigers players may already be in the Lakeland, Florida area, today is the first day that pitchers and catchers report to training camp! Tuesday will be the first day of actual on-field drills. The rest of the squad reports on Thursday in anticipation for the teams' first full workout on Friday. The offseason may have been very brief, but Tigers fans are more than ready to start talking baseball again. The Tigers first contest of Spring Training is less than two weeks away. Here is a complete 2013 Spring Training Schedule for your Detroit Tigers:

Fri, Feb 22, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers@ BravesChampion Stadium
Sat, Feb 23, 20131:05 pm ESTBlue Jays@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Feb 24, 20131:05 pm ESTPhillies@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Feb 25, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers@ PhilliesBright House Field
Tue, Feb 26, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers (SS)@ AstrosOsceola County Stadium
Wed, Feb 27,20131:05 pm ESTBraves@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Feb 28, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers@ RaysCharlotte Sports Park
Fri, Mar 01, 20131:10 pm ESTTigers@ MetsTradition Field
Sat, Mar 02, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers (SS)@ YankeesGeorge M. Steinbrenner Field
Sat, Mar 02, 20131:05 pm ESTPirates@ Tigers (SS)Joker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Mar 03, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers@ BravesChampion Stadium
Mon, Mar 04, 20131:05 pm ESTAstros@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Wed, Mar 06, 20131:05 pm ESTBlue Jays@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Mar 07, 20136:05 pm ESTTigers@ BravesChampion Stadium
Fri, Mar 08, 20131:05 pm ESTMets@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 09, 20131:05 pm ESTTigers@ Blue JaysFlorida Auto Exchange Stadium
Sun, Mar 10, 20131:05 pm EDTNationals@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Mar 11, 20131:05 pm EDTMets@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Tue, Mar 12, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers@ PhilliesBright House Field
Wed, Mar 13, 20131:05 pm EDTFlorida Southern@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Mar 14, 20131:10 pm EDTTigers@ MetsTradition Field
Fri, Mar 15, 20131:05 pm EDTBlue Jays@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 16, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers@ CardinalsRoger Dean Stadium
Sun, Mar 17, 20131:05 pm EDTNationals@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Mar 18, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers@ NationalsSpace Coast Stadium
Tue, Mar 19, 20131:05 pm EDTRays@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Thu, Mar 21, 20136:05 pm EDTAstros@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Fri, Mar 22, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers@ NationalsSpace Coast Stadium
Sat, Mar 23, 20131:05 pm EDTYankees@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Mar 24, 20131:10 pm EDTTigers (SS)@ MetsTradition Field
Mon, Mar 25, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers@ MarlinsRoger Dean Stadium on FSD
Tue, Mar 26, 20131:05 pm EDTBraves@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Wed, Mar 27, 20131:05 pm EDTPhillies@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium on ESPN
Thu, Mar 28, 20131:05 pm EDTTigers (SS)@ AstrosOsceola County Stadium
Fri, Mar 29, 20131:05 pm EDTRays@ TigersJoker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 30, 20131:10 pm EDTTigers@ RaysTropicana Field

 

Also, Justin Verlander has confirmed that he will not play for Team USA in the World Baseball Classic.  JV is a bit behind schedule and doesn't want to rush getting into shape for the WBC.

The Tigers formally announce that the club has reached an agreement with P Max Scherzer for this coming season.


Comments

  1. They just said on Michigan Live that Justin Verlander will not be Pitching for Team USA In the WBC...

  2. Good for JV. He has thrown a lot of innings over the past two seasons. No need to pitch in an event in which no one remembers who won a month after its over.

  3. For, lo, the winter is past,
    The rain is over and gone;
    The flowers appear on the earth;
    The time of the singing of birds is come,
    And the voice of the turtle is heard in our land.

Share.

About Author

Jeff joined the DSN crew in 2011 as a beat writer for the Detroit Tigers. He also covers news from around the National Hockey League. Jeff is currently the Managing Editor of DSN, and resides in Phoenix, AZ.