Michigan State PG Cassius Winston finalist for Bob Cousy Award

Cassius Winston has been shouldering a huge workload for Michigan State basketball this season, and all that extra effort could earn him some hardware by season’s end starting with the Bob Cousy Award.

Embed from Getty Images

Cassius Winston is Michigan State’s leading scorer averaging 18.8 points per game according to Fox Sports. With 7.3 assists per game, Winston leads the Big Ten and is tied for fifth-best nationally with TCU‘s Alex Robinson. He also ranks No. 26 nationally in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.9. All while averaging 32.7 minutes a game.

Winston has become a workhorse for the ninth-ranked Spartans since Michigan State lost junior shooting guard Joshua Langford for the year to a foot injury. Cassius Winston has played at least 35 minutes in each of the past five games, including 44 minutes in Michigan State’s overtime loss to Indiana on Saturday.

Winston would be the Spartans’ first Bob Cousy Award winner and is also a leading candidate for Big Ten Player of the Year.

MSU’s next game is tonight at Illinois. The Spartans are currently tied with the Wolverines atop the Big Ten standings.

2019 Bob Cousy Award finalists

Winston is one of 10 points guards selected as a finalist for the 2019 Bob Cousy Award. The Bob Cousy Award is an annual award given by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the top men’s point guard since 2004. It is named after six-time NBA champion Bob Cousy, who played point guard for the Boston Celtics from 1950 to 1963. All six of Cosy’s championships were won as a member of the Celtics.

The other nine 2019 Bob Cousy Award finalists are Boston College’s Ky Bowman, Gonzaga’s Josh Perkins, LSU’s Tremont Waters, Marquette’s Markus Howard, Murray State’s Ja Morant, Nevada’s Cody Martin, Purdue‘s Carsen Edwards, Tennessee’s Jordan Bone, and Virginia’s Ty Jerome.

Past Bob Cousy Award winners

Villanova’s Jalen Brunson won last year’s Bob Cousy Award. A complete list of Bob Cousy Award winners can be found below:

Season  Player  School  Class
2003-04  Jameer Nelson  Saint Joseph’s  Senior
2004-05  Raymond Felton North Carolina  Junior
2005-06  Dee Brown Illinois  Senior
2006-07  Acie Law Texas A&M  Senior
2007-08  D. J. Augustin Texas  Sophomore
2008-09  Ty Lawson North Carolina  Junior
2009-10  Greivis Vásquez Maryland  Senior
2010-11  Kemba Walker Connecticut  Junior
2011-12  Kendall Marshall North Carolina  Sophomore
2012-13  Trey Burke Michigan  Sophomore
2013-14  Shabazz Napier Connecticut  Senior
2014-15  Delon Wright Utah  Senior
2015-16  Tyler Ulis Kentucky  Sophomore
2016-17  Frank Mason III Kansas  Senior
2017-18  Jalen Brunson Villanova  Junior

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

BREAKING: Pep Hamilton’s fate at Michigan revealed

BREAKING: Michigan makes major announcement regarding RB Chris Evans