Wooden Award watch list has both MSU and U-M represented

3 Min Read

Both MSU and UM have a representative on the preseason watch list for player of the year. The Wooden Award has 50 players on it’s preseason list including Sr. Brandon Dawson from Michigan State and Jr. Caris LeVert from Michigan.

Featured Videos

Of the 50 players on the watch list, 22 will compete in the Tip-Off Marathon on the ESPN family of networks featuring MSU @ Duke tomorrow night.

The list will be reduced to 25 players in January, and the finalists will be announced in March. Players who were not included on the preseason list can be added in the next rounds. The best example of the latter is former Indiana star Victor Oladipo, who wasn’t included on the midseason list in 2012-13 but was a finalist for the award.

Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 Watch List

Player School Position Class
Cliff Alexander Kansas F Fr.
Brandon Ashley Arizona F Jr.
Ron Baker Wichita State G RJr.
Ryan Boatright UConn G Sr.
Malcolm Brogdon Virginia G RJr.
Willie Cauley-Stein Kentucky F Jr.
Branden Dawson Michigan State G/F Sr.
Sam Dekker Wisconsin F Jr.
Perry Ellis Kansas F Jr.
Yogi Ferrell Indiana G Jr.
Marcus Foster Kansas State G So.
Michael Frazier II Florida G Jr.
Treveon Graham VCU G/F Sr.
Jerian Grant Notre Dame G Sr.
Olivier Hanlan Boston College G Jr.
Montrezl Harrell Louisville F Jr.
Aaron Harrison Kentucky G So.
Andrew Harrison Kentucky G So.
Tyler Haws BYU G Sr.
Buddy Hield Oklahoma G Jr.
Rondae Hollis-Jefferson Arizona F So.
R.J. Hunter Georgia State G Jr.
Stanley Johnson Arizona F Fr.
Tyus Jones Duke G Fr.
Frank Kaminsky Wisconsin F Sr.
Caris LeVert Michigan G Jr.
Jordan Mickey LSU F So.
Nic Moore SMU G RJr.
Georges Niang Iowa State F Jr.
Jahlil Okafor Duke C Fr.
Kelly Oubre Jr. Kansas G Fr.
Marcus Paige North Carolina G Jr.
Kevin Pangos Gonzaga G Sr.
Terran Petteway Nebraska F Jr.
Bobby Portis Arkansas F So.
Chasson Randle Stanford G Sr.
Terry Rozier Louisville G So.
Wesley Saunders Harvard G Sr.
Josh Scott Colorado F Jr.
Wayne Selden Jr. Kansas G So.
D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera Georgetown G Jr.
Juwan Staten West Virginia G Sr.
Keifer Sykes Green Bay G Sr.
Isaiah Taylor Texas G So.
Karl-Anthony Towns Kentucky F Fr.
Myles Turner Texas F Fr.
Fred VanVleet Wichita State G Jr.
Dez Wells Maryland G/F Sr.
Delon Wright Utah G Sr.
Joseph Young Oregon G RSr.

Share this Article
Posted by Brad Edelson
Brad is an avid sports fan. He loves all things MSU and Detroit and now calls Toronto home while running a small travel company. He is also the president of the Michigan State University Alumni Association of Toronto. www.torontospartans.com