Dave Dombrowski part of Committee voting on Lou Whitaker’s Hall candidacy

In a move that was long overdue, former All-Star second baseman Lou Whitaker was named to the Modern Era Committee Hall of Fame ballot which will be voted on this December.

And now, we know who that Committee consists of.

One name that immediately jumps out to Tigers fans is Dave Dombrowski, who served as Tigers GM
from 2002 to 2015.

The Committee also include Hall of Fame players George Brett, Rod Carew, Dennis Eckersley, Eddie Murray, Ozzie Smith and Robin Yount; executives Sandy Alderson, David Glass, Walt Jocketty, Doug Melvin, and Terry Ryan; and media members Bill Center, Tracy Ringolsby, Jack O’Connell and Steve Hirdt.

Candidates must receive 75% of the votes to be elected to the Hall of Fame through the committee process. The vote will take place in San Diego this Sunday.