Just In: Detroit Tigers Justin Verlander and Michael Fulmer named finalists for BBWAA awards

On November 14th, the Baseball Writers Association of America will announce the winner for the American League Rookie of the Year award and Detroit Tigers phenom Michael Fulmer has made the final three.

Joining Fulmer in the final three are Tyler Naquin of the Cleveland Indians and Gary Sanchez of the New York Yankees.


In Fulmer’s rookie campaign with the Tigers, he was brilliant as he went 11-7 with a 3.06 ERA in 26 starts. The Tigers and their fans hope that he can follow-up his rookie year with another outstanding season in 2017.

Prediction: Michael Fulmer takes home the honors.

In addition, Justin Verlander is a finalist for the American League Cy Young award, which is given to the most outstanding pitcher in A.L..

Joining Verlander in the final three are former Tigers pitcher Rick Porcello of the Boston Red Sox and Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians.

In 2016, Verlander was brilliant in 34 starts going 16-9 with a 3.04 ERA. He also led the league with 254 strikeouts in 227.2 innings pitched.

Prediction: I really believe that this will be an extremely close vote, especially considering that Porcello was 22-4, but if the writers do their research, they will realize that Justin Verlander was the best pitcher in the American League in 2016.

Verlander wins it!

Have you subscribed to our YouTube Channel yet? Subscribe and hit that notification bell to stay up to date on all the latest Detroit sports news, rumors, interviews, live streams, and more!
Detroit Tigers release pitching rotation for series vs. Rockies

5 Reasons why the Detroit Lions WILL make the NFL Playoffs

Tomas Tatar is failing to take the next step Detroit needs him to