Michigan State Athletics: 2023-24 All-Sports Awards Winners Announced

Michigan State Athletics Announces 2023-24 All-Sports Awards Winners

Michigan State Athletics recognized standout athletes with its 2023-24 All-Sports Awards, highlighting excellence and impact across the university’s sports programs. The prestigious honors, decided by a panel of administrators and athletic department staffers, celebrating standout performances and contributions from the university’s top athletes.

Key Award Winners

The George Alderton Male Athlete of the Year was a shared honor this year, earned by Heath Baldwin of the men’s track and field program and tennis player Ozan Baris. Heath Baldwin, a native of Kalamazoo, broke five school records, earned first-team All-America credentials, and finished as the runner-up at the NCAA Indoor Championships. Ozan Baris became the first Spartan men’s tennis player to receive the school’s top athletic honor. Hailing from nearby Okemos, Baris was named first-team All-Big Ten and Big Ten Player of the Year for his 14-3 regular-season singles record, and he also went 12-6 in doubles play. Baris finished his season ranked No. 5 in the final ITA singles rankings, a program record, and became the Spartans’ first two-time All-American.

The George Alderton Female Athlete of the Year award was given to Skyla Schulte of the gymnastics team.


Additional Awards

Other notable awards and recipients include:

Chester Brewer Leadership Award: Nash Nienhuis, men’s ice hockey
This award is presented to a graduating senior for distinguished performance in athletics and scholarship and for possessing a high degree of leadership qualities and skill.

Dr. James Feurig Achievement and Service Award: Ashley Harlock, field hockey
Presented to a male or female graduating senior involved in athletics as a competitor or in a supporting role. The recipient should carry a minimum grade-point average of 3.0 or better and, in addition to athletic and academic success, demonstrate involvement in school/campus and community activities.

Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor – Male: Jack Frank, baseball

Awarded to a male and female student-athlete at each conference institution for outstanding athletic and academic achievement.

Big Ten Conference Medal of Honor – Female: Justina Gaynor, women’s soccer
Awarded to a male and female student-athlete at each conference institution for outstanding athletic and academic achievement.

These awards honor Michigan State’s student-athletes’ athletic prowess, academic achievements, and leadership qualities, showcasing their dedication both on and off the field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Written by Jeff Bilbrey

Founder of Detroit Sports Nation - Jeff Bilbrey manages the day to day operations of Detroit Sports Nation as well as all content delivery systems, ad networks and social platforms. Email him at [email protected]

Blueface and Kelly Stafford Kelly Stafford shares what Matthew Stafford Kelly Stafford takes to social media

Kelly Stafford Explains Why She Dated Matthew Stafford’s Backup Quarterback

White Sox vs Tigers June 21, 2024 – Details, Betting Odds and More