MSU forward Miles Bridges named to ‘Karl Malone Award’ watch list

While Michigan State Spartans did not have any players named to the Preseason All Big-Ten team, the Green and White did nab some other preseason individual honors earlier today.

Being named to the watch list for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year award puts Miles Bridges in elite company. Bridges joins Nigel Hayes (Wisconsin) and well as Caleb Swanigan (Purdue) to represent the Big Ten in this preseason honor.

Miles Bridges will be a freshman at MSU this season. During his senior year of high school, he had an impressive stat line of 25 points, 10 rebounds, 5 assists and 2 steals. The Karl Malone award was first presented in 2015. Previous winners are Montrezl Harrell (2015, Louisville) and Georges Niang (2016, Iowa State).

Here is a full list of this season’s watch list honorees from

Lauri Markkanen Arizona
Johnathan Motley Baylor
Ivan Rabb California
Amile Jefferson Duke
Jonathan Isaac Florida State
Yante Maten Georgia
Carlton Bragg Jr. Kansas
Dedric Lawson Memphis
Miles Bridges Michigan State
Isaiah Hicks North Carolina
Bonzie Colson Notre Dame
Michael Young Pittsburgh
Caleb Swanigan Purdue
Tyler Lydon Syracuse
Bennie Boatwright Southern California
Alec Peters Valparaiso
Kris Jenkins Villanova
Austin Nichols Virginia
Nigel Hayes Wisconsin
Have you subscribed to our YouTube Channel yet? Subscribe and hit that notification bell to stay up to date on all the latest Detroit sports news, rumors, interviews, live streams, and more!
Michigan State WR Jalen Nailor selected by Minnesota Vikings in 2022 NFL Draft

2016 DSN NFL Picks, Week 7

Longtime Detroit Free Press sports writer Drew Sharp has died at 56