Peyton Manning, Marshall Faulk headline 2017 CFB HOF ballot

The College Football Hall of Fame announced its ballot for the 2017 class, a ballot that included many notables players including Peyton Manning and Marshall Faulk.

Peyton Manning TennesseeManning retired this off-season after capping off an amazing NFL career with a Super Bowl title. The former Tennessee quarterback also had quite the career in college as well, leading the Volunteers to a SEC title in 1997 and finishing as a Heisman finalist.

Manning still holds career school records in wins, passing yards, and touchdowns.


Faulk, a Pro Football Hall of Famer with the Colts and Rams, also had a great career at San Diego State as a three-time All-American.

The Aztec halfback also was a three-time finalist for the Heisman Trophy and led the nation in rushing yards per game twice during his career at SDSU.

Jason HansonSome other names that local fans might recognize include former Michigan State Spartans Kirk Gibson, Morten Anderson, and Lorenzo White as well as former Lions placekicker Jason Hanson, who was a two-time All-American at Washington State and still holds numerous NCAA kicking records.

A couple of former Wolverines made the ballot as well including two-time All-American OT Jumbo Elliott and 1988 Big Ten Player of Year DT Mark Messner.

The ballot also had a couple of local small school additions as former Northern Michigan DB Jerry Woods was named. Woods played for the Wildcats in the late ’80s and was one of the best kick returners in Division 2, his 24.9 yards per return average is still a school record.

Former Albion head coach Morley Fraser was nominated as well. Fraser coached the Britons from 1954-68, winning five MIAA (Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association)  championships. He also coached 65 All-MIAA players, including one All-American and five MIAA Players of the Year.

Fraser was named Small College Coach of the Year in 1964.

The full list can be found here. This year’s ballot includes 75 players and 6 coaches from the FBS division, as well as 95 players and 29 coaches from the FCS division and lower.

The 2017 Hall of Fame class will be announced on Jan. 6, 2017 in Tampa, Fla.