LOOK: Jim Harbaugh reveals ‘real’ Michigan football roster

NCAA Football: Orange Bowl-Michigan vs Florida State
Dec 30, 2016; Miami Gardens, FL, USA; A Michigan Wolverines football helmet sits on the field prior to the game between the Florida State Seminoles and the Michigan Wolverines at Hard Rock Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

At 5:29 AM the Michigan Football roster was released. And no, this one isn’t a joke.

Jim Harbaugh simply tweeted an image containing the names, positions, and numbers of the Michigan Football players. Nothing too unexpected was discovered with this early morning roster release.

However, as the Detroit Free Press reports there are a few position changes worth noting.

Harbaugh’s roster confirms a few position switches that had started to leak out. Nate Johnson, who came to Michigan as a wide receiver, has moved to the defensive backfield he had been working at corner in fall camp. James Hudson, who came to Michigan as a defensive lineman, is now working on the offensive line.

Another shift in position is Jared Wangler the former linebacker is listed as a full back. Shelton Johnson a defensive line recruit from Harbaugh’s first class is not listed anywhere on the roster.

Among the position changes, there are a few number shifts as well. Such as Grant Perry, who is now listed as #88. Donovan Peoples-Jones is wearing Perry’s old #9.

Of course, all the freshman’s new numbers are available for the first time.

Numbers for Michigan’s true freshmen are as follows: No. 1 Jordan Anthony (LB) , No. 7 Tarik Black (WR), No. 4 Nico Collins (WR), No. 66 Chuck Filiaga (OL), No. 73 Ja’Raymond Hall (OL), No. 20 Brad Hawkins (DB), No. 59 Joel Honigford (OL), No. 55 James Hudson (OL), No. 44 Deron Irving-Bey (DL), No. 95 Donovan Jeter (DL), No. 16 Jaylen Kelly-Powell (DB), No. 2 Oliver Martin (WR), No. 42 Ben Mason (FB), No. 10 Dylan McCaffrey (QB), No. 31 Phillip Paea (DL), No. 19 Kwity Paye (DL), No. 9 Donovan Peoples-Jones (WR), No. 3 Brad Robbins (P), No. 12 Josh Ross (LB), No. 51 Cesar Ruiz (OL), No. 23 O’Maury Samuels (RB), No. 8 Drew Singleton (LB), No. 5 Aubrey Solomon (DL), No. 25 Benjamin St-Juste (DB), No. 71 Andrew Stueber (OL), No. 5 Kurt Taylor (RB), No. 1 Ambry Thomas (DB), No. 18 Luiji Vilain (DL), No. 26 J’Marick Woods (DB).

There are only nine seniors on this roster, a testament to just how young this 2017 Michigan team is. We will see how that youth affects the Wolverines as the season kicks off against the Gators. With the roster release, we now know more than just what jerseys Michigan will be wearing come 3:30 PM this Saturday.