Detroit Tigers 1B Spencer Torkelson named finalist for Silver Slugger award

Detroit Tigers' Spencer Torkelson named finalist for Silver Slugger award.

Detroit Tigers 1B Spencer Torkelson named finalist for Silver Slugger award

In a season filled with stellar performances, Detroit Tigers first baseman Spencer Torkelson has emerged as a finalist for the highly coveted Silver Slugger Award. This recognition underscores the remarkable achievements of Torkelson during his breakout sophomore season in 2023, where he showcased his prowess with the bat and set several career highs.

Eduardo Rodriguez marvels at Spencer Torkelson Spencer Torkelson named finalist for Silver Slugger

Spencer Torkelson Breaks Out

During the 2023 season, the 24-year-old former No. 1 overall pick delivered a stellar performance, hitting for a .233 average with 141 hits, 34 doubles, 31 home runs, 94 RBI, and an impressive .758 OPS. Torkelson's exceptional statistics have propelled him into the select group of finalists competing for the Silver Slugger Award.

Torkelson faces stiff competition from other standout American League first basemen, including Triston Casas of the Boston Red Sox, Yandy Diaz from the Tampa Bay Rays, and Nathaniel Lowe representing the Texas Rangers.

Can Torkelson Win the Award?

Among his fellow finalists, Torkelson leads in home runs and RBI, showcasing his ability to make a significant impact on the field. However, he ranks third in slugging percentage, last in batting average, on-base percentage, and OPS.

The Silver Slugger Award winners will be unveiled on MLB Network at 6 p.m. ET on November 9, where fans and baseball enthusiasts eagerly await the results. The complete list of finalists for both the American League and National League is provided below.

Spencer Torkelson deserves apology Detroit Tigers Miguel Cabrera A.J. Hinch Jordan Lyles Spencer Torkelson reveals secret to his success


  • Catcher: Salvador Perez, KC; Cal Raleigh, SEA; Adley Rutschman, BAL
  • First Base: Triston Casas, BOS; Yandy Diaz, TB; Nathaniel Lowe, TEX; Spencer Torkelson, DET
  • Second Base: Brandon Drury, LAA; Marcus Semien, TEX; Gleyber Torres, NYY
  • Shortstop: JP Crawford, SEA; Corey Seager, TEX; Bobby Witt Jr., KC
  • Third Base: Alex Bregman, HOU; Rafael Devers, BOS; Isaac Paredes, TB; José Ramírez, CLE
  • Outfield: Randy Arozarena, TB; Adolis García, TEX; Aaron Judge, NYY; Luis Robert Jr. CHW; Julio Rodríguez, SEA; Anthony Santander, BAL; Kyle Tucker, HOU
  • Designated Hitter: Yordan Alvarez, HOU; Shohei Ohtani, LAA
  • Utility: Brandon Drury, LAA; Gunnar Henderson, BAL; Whit Merrifield, TOR; Isaac Paredes, TB


  • Catcher: William Contreras, MIL; Sean Murphy, ATL; JT Realmuto, PHI; Will Smith, LAD
  • First Base: Pete Alonso, NYM; Freddie Freeman, LAD; Matt Olson, ATL
  • Second Base: Ozzie Albies, ATL; Luis Arraez, MIA; Ketel Marte, ARI
  • Shortstop: Xander Bogaerts, SD; Francisco Lindor, NYM; Dansby Swanson, CHC; Trea Turner, PHI
  • Third Base: Nolan Arenado, STL; Manny Machado, SD; Max Muncy, LAD; Austin Riley, ATL
  • Outfield: Ronald Acuña Jr., ATL; Cody Bellinger, CHC; Mookie Betts, LAD; Corbin Carroll, ARI; Kyle Schwarber, PHI; Juan Soto, SD; Seiya Suzuki, CHC
  • Designated Hitter: Bryce Harper, PHI; JD Martinez, LAD; Marcell Ozuna, ATL; Jorge Soler, MIA
  • Utility: Cody Bellinger, CHC; Mookie Betts, LAD; Ha-Seong Kim, SD; Spencer Steer, CIN
Spencer Torkelson Detroit Tigers Jordan Lyles

TL;DR (too long didn't read)

  1. Detroit Tigers' Spencer Torkelson is a finalist for the prestigious Silver Slugger Award.
  2. Torkelson had a breakout sophomore season in 2023, setting career highs in various statistical categories.
  3. The Silver Slugger Award winners will be announced on Nov. 9, and Torkelson faces tough competition from fellow first basemen in the American League.

Bottom Line – Awaiting the Results

As the baseball world eagerly anticipates the announcement of the Silver Slugger Award winners, fans of Spencer Torkelson and the Detroit Tigers are keeping their fingers crossed. Whether Torkelson secures the award or not, his remarkable season and recognition as a finalist are a testament to his potential and growing influence in the game.