Detroit Tigers

Tigers Pitchers/Catchers Report; Spring Begins (w/ schedule)

on


LAKELAND, Florida—

Even though many Tigers players may already be in the Lakeland, Florida area, today is the first day that pitchers and catchers report to training camp! Tuesday will be the first day of actual on-field drills. The rest of the squad reports on Thursday in anticipation for the teams’ first full workout on Friday. The offseason may have been very brief, but Tigers fans are more than ready to start talking baseball again. The Tigers first contest of Spring Training is less than two weeks away. Here is a complete 2013 Spring Training Schedule for your Detroit Tigers:

Fri, Feb 22, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers @ Braves Champion Stadium
Sat, Feb 23, 2013 1:05 pm EST Blue Jays @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Feb 24, 2013 1:05 pm EST Phillies @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Feb 25, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers @ Phillies Bright House Field
Tue, Feb 26, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers (SS) @ Astros Osceola County Stadium
Wed, Feb 27,2013 1:05 pm EST Braves @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Feb 28, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers @ Rays Charlotte Sports Park
Fri, Mar 01, 2013 1:10 pm EST Tigers @ Mets Tradition Field
Sat, Mar 02, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers (SS) @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sat, Mar 02, 2013 1:05 pm EST Pirates @ Tigers (SS) Joker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Mar 03, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers @ Braves Champion Stadium
Mon, Mar 04, 2013 1:05 pm EST Astros @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Wed, Mar 06, 2013 1:05 pm EST Blue Jays @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Mar 07, 2013 6:05 pm EST Tigers @ Braves Champion Stadium
Fri, Mar 08, 2013 1:05 pm EST Mets @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 09, 2013 1:05 pm EST Tigers @ Blue Jays Florida Auto Exchange Stadium
Sun, Mar 10, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Nationals @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Mar 11, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Mets @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Tue, Mar 12, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Phillies Bright House Field
Wed, Mar 13, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Florida Southern @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Thu, Mar 14, 2013 1:10 pm EDT Tigers @ Mets Tradition Field
Fri, Mar 15, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Blue Jays @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 16, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Cardinals Roger Dean Stadium
Sun, Mar 17, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Nationals @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Mon, Mar 18, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Nationals Space Coast Stadium
Tue, Mar 19, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Rays @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Thu, Mar 21, 2013 6:05 pm EDT Astros @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium on FSD
Fri, Mar 22, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Nationals Space Coast Stadium
Sat, Mar 23, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Sun, Mar 24, 2013 1:10 pm EDT Tigers (SS) @ Mets Tradition Field
Mon, Mar 25, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Marlins Roger Dean Stadium on FSD
Tue, Mar 26, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Braves @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Wed, Mar 27, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Phillies @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium on ESPN
Thu, Mar 28, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Tigers (SS) @ Astros Osceola County Stadium
Fri, Mar 29, 2013 1:05 pm EDT Rays @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Sat, Mar 30, 2013 1:10 pm EDT Tigers @ Rays Tropicana Field

 

Also, Justin Verlander has confirmed that he will not play for Team USA in the World Baseball Classic.  JV is a bit behind schedule and doesn’t want to rush getting into shape for the WBC.

The Tigers formally announce that the club has reached an agreement with P Max Scherzer for this coming season.

About Jeff Deacon

Jeff joined the DSN crew in 2011 as a beat writer for the Detroit Tigers. He also covers news around the National Hockey League. Jeff currently resides in Phoenix, AZ where he is focusing on a career as an airline pilot. Follow Jeff on Twitter at @JeffDeacs.

Recommended for you

5 Comments

  1. Detroit Sports Nation

    February 11, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Also inside: Will Justin Verlander play for Team USA in the WBC?

  2. Gary VanDecar

    February 11, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    They just said on Michigan Live that Justin Verlander will not be Pitching for Team USA In the WBC…

  3. Judy Perry Peterson

    February 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

    Ye Ha baseballs back.

  4. Matt Pelc

    February 11, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Good for JV. He has thrown a lot of innings over the past two seasons. No need to pitch in an event in which no one remembers who won a month after its over.

  5. Rick Birch

    February 11, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    For, lo, the winter is past,
    The rain is over and gone;
    The flowers appear on the earth;
    The time of the singing of birds is come,
    And the voice of the turtle is heard in our land.