Alternate captains named for 2020-21 Detroit Red Wings

The Detroit Red Wings officially announced that Dylan Larkin is now the 37th captain in franchise history, following in the footsteps of the likes of Steve Yzerman, Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg.

And now that we know who will be wearing the “C” on his jersey, we now know who will be donning the “A” of assistant captains.

Fellow Michigan native and former Michigan Wolverine Luke Glendening will be one alternate captain, while veteran forward Frans Nielsen will have the other. Both have previously worn the “A” on their jersey, along with Larkin.

Past alternate captains for the Red Wings over the years include Brendan Shanahan, Justin Abdelkader, Pavel Datsyuk, Niklas Kronwall, Johan Franzen and Daniel Alfredsson.