College Sports

Big Ten Conference to Realign, Rename Divisions


KALAMAZOO, Michigan –

Say good-bye to the Legends and Leaders (at least as the divisional names the Big Ten Conference used this past year). An ESPN Chicago source revealed on Friday that the Big Ten will ditch the current divisional names in favor of using geographical names. Starting in 2014, the conference will feature an East Division and a West Division. The move comes as Maryland and Rutgers are set to become the 13th and 14th teams in the Big Ten.

Here is a look at the proposed divisions:

East Division: Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, Rutgers, Ohio State

West Division: Northwestern, Iowa, Illinois, Purdue, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Nebraska

The realignment will require a vote from the Presidents of the Big Ten schools, but that is reportedly just a formality and not expected to be an issue.

Big Ten Conference

About Jeff Deacon

Jeff joined the DSN crew in 2011 as a beat writer for the Detroit Tigers. He also covers news around the National Hockey League. Jeff currently resides in Phoenix, AZ where he is focusing on a career as an airline pilot. Follow Jeff on Twitter at @JeffDeacs.

Recommended for you